A Christmas “Thank You”

Stacy Rush headshot

Stacy Rush is a contributor to The Brenner Brief.

It is that time of the year again — the holiday season! Whether your family celebrates Hanukkah, Kwanzaa or Christmas this is a time to rejoice and give thanks for blessings bestowed upon us.

Our family celebrates Christmas, and the birth of our Savior, Jesus Christ.

As I look back over my life, I give thanks to those who lived by their faith, and influenced me most. One person who is special to me is my grandmother, who as a single parent owned a hair salon business while raising three girls alone. Nana Hogan taught me the importance of work ethic and of valuing each person for the content of their character, not the color of their skin, nor their sexual orientation.

Stained glass at St John the Baptist's Anglica...

Another family who comes to mind this time of year is my mom’s best friend. She lost two sons about 10 years apart, and is the family who gave me my first glimpse at the importance of faith. The strength and grace they showed everyone during the most difficult times in their lives was something I wanted, but took me 37 years to truly understand. When I finally experienced what was always within me, my life changed, and for this I thank Nana Hogan, the Jernigan family and many others who helped and influenced me throughout my life.

Included in my prayers are those in Newtown, anyone in pain this holiday season. I pray that those who live their life by faith will show those who suffer that there is hope to be found in this season.

I want to thank anyone who took time out of their lives to read anything I have written. I am eternally grateful and hope you have a fabulous holiday season, a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Comments

  1. Thanks for mentioning me in the related articles section. 🙂 much appreciated & hope you had a Merry Christmas!

Leave a comment or question. Report abusive, harassing or annoying behavior by clicking on Tips/Contact in the top menu.

