The Division Conquering Conservatives

Many of us in the arena of conservative politics have been in what I call “election recovery” since November 6th — to varying degrees. Some of this concerns me, and at the very least, gives me pause.

JackieLynn Wellfonder is a new contributor to The Brenner Brief. Her column will post weekly on Thursdays.

I, too, was overwhelmed, shocked, and for a time, quite depressed at the outcome of the election. Fortunately, I was surrounded by a wonderful group of friends after having spent the past several months as a regional coordinator on a U.S. Senate campaign. Most of them reacted quite rationally, expressing their discontent, but remaining determined to not give up. We realized we still had a lot of work to do, especially in my blue state of Maryland, and we cared too much to just walk away.

Over the next few days, as I read the talks of secession and saw more states being added to the list of those with petitions, that only added to my somber mood. Should this be our reaction to losing this election? Are things really that bad? I have been a proud patriot all my life and I truly just couldn’t fathom the thought. There are some that would even argue that it’s treasonous to want to secede from the United States.

I have some vehemently patriotic friends who would tell me that going down this path is indeed indicative of just how patriotic they really are. I do not agree, not by a long shot.

Thankfully, in my humble opinion, many of the secession efforts seem to be fading.

The Examiner originally reported the following:

All 50 states have signed petitions to secede from the United States, but only seven have so far gathered the required number of signatures to merit a response. These are Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, North Carolina, Tennessee and Texas. Texas has gathered the most signatures, but residents of at least three cities – Austin, Houston and San Antonio – have signed petitions to secede from Texas if the state pursues its plan to break away. It is noteworthy that a petition to deport all those who signed the secession petition has gathered 25,532 signatures, much more than the majority of the states that have withdrawal petitions.

However, they have now updated their story to reflect more accurate information:

Update: As of Wednesday morning, 44 states are represented in petitioning President Obama for peaceful secession from the United States of America. Earlier reports that 50 are included are untrue.

Despite Texas having the most signatures, three prominent cities strongly disagree with the petition — so  much so, they would secede from the state itself. While the secession efforts are fizzling out, I still have concerns about how divided we are. And no, I don’t mean as a country, and I don’t mean as Republicans and Democrats.

I’m referring to the divide among conservatives as a whole. While I’ve read many explanations for why we failed to elect Mitt Romney, one thing is abundantly clear: we need to regroup and unify before the next election, or we can chalk up another loss now.

I definitely don’t profess to have all the answers, but I plan to surround myself — yet again — with like-minded individuals who are committed to pursuing electing candidates who will remain true to the principles our great country was founded upon. I just refuse to accept the defeatist mentality, and I hope you all will do the same.

Trackbacks

  1. […] my first MDGOP convention this weekend, these topics are on the forefront for me. Earlier today, my first contribution to The Brenner Brief was posted. This evening, the lovely Teri Christoph of Smart Girl Politics and […]

  2. […] close votes.  I say disheartening, because the division within our own party has been something I’ve written about previously, and it continues to be a hot topic for […]

Leave a comment or question. Report abusive, harassing or annoying behavior by clicking on Tips/Contact in the top menu.

